The AICPA Uniform CPA exam is challenging on its own, but this process is complicated further by each state also having its own CPA requirements to fulfill so as to sit the exam. To make this process easier, we have compiled a detailed overview of what the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy requirements. This should prove helpful if you are planning to either take the Mississippi CPA exam, transfer your existing credits or CPA license to Mississippi, or to maintain your existing Mississippi CPA license. As these requirements are subject to change, we recommended confirming all information with the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy to make sure you qualify, and to verify that the charges have not been updated since this piece was published.
Mississippi has no minimum age requirement to sit the CPA exam.
There are residency requirements in Mississippi. Residency is determined by the following criteria:
- Place of registration as a voter
- Vehicle registration and tags
- Filing of Mississippi State Resident Tax Returns
- Qualifying for Homestead Exemption in Mississippi and payment of real estate taxes to this state, and/or
- Graduation from a Mississippi university or college
Mississippi does not require US citizenship but does require a valid social security number.
Mississippi requires applicants to have a bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited university or college to sit the exam. They must have acquired at least 120 semester hours by the time of writing the exam. They are also required to meet the following course requirements:
- 48 Semester hours of upper division or graduate level accounting or business-related subjects. This must include at least 24 hours of account, with 3 hours for each of the following:
- Financial Accounting
- Management/Cost Accounting
- Government/Not-for-Profit Accounting
- Credit for hours taken at accredited colleges and universities using the quarter system shall be counted as 2/3 of a semester hour for each hour of credit received under the quarter system
Recognized accrediting bodies
A college or university’s credits are recognized if it is accredited through one of the following institutions:
- Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools
- New England Association and Colleges
- The Higher Learning Commission
- Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universitates
- Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
- Western Association of Schools and Colleges
- A program or business school that is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB)
- Duplicate courses will only be counted once
- Introductory classes will only count towards the general semester hour requirement, no accountancy or business requirements
- AP, ACT, CLEP, and college or departmental examination credit for courses required by the student’s degree program will be accepted as part of the general 150 semester hour requirement provided that they appear on the transcript of a regionally accredited institution
Accountants who graduated from international institutions must have their transcripts evaluated by the NASBA International Evaluation Services (NIES.) If approved, they will be allowed to sit the exam, provided that they meet the other requirements. Otherwise, they will be informed of which requirements need to be fulfilled.
Mississippi CPA applicants are required to acquire one year’s worth of full time work experience before the can apply for licensure. This must be fulfilled in a minimum of one year and a maximum of three years. This experience must entail any combination of service or advice involving the use of accounting, attest, compilation, management advisory, financial advisory, tax or consulting skills, which may be obtained through government, industry, academic or public practice.
The Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy does not require an ethics exam for licensure.
How to Apply for the Mississippi CPA Exam
- Create an online account with the Board and apply for the exam online
- Be of good moral character. This may entail a criminal background check
- Meet the college educational requirements at the time of filing an application
- Be a resident of Mississippi
- Candidates who have passed sections of the exam can apply to have the results transferred to Mississippi for a $50.00 fee
- Pay application and exam fees
|Initial application fee||$150.00|
|Auditing & Attestation (AUD)||$224.99|
|Financial Accounting & Reporting (FAR)||$224.99|
|Business Environment & Concepts (BEC)||$224.99|
Reexamination application fees:
- Four sections – $135.00
- Three sections – $115.00
- Two sections – $95.00
- One section – $75.00
Fees are non-refundable. Most exams can be rescheduled.
Prometric Testing Centers
How to Apply for a Mississippi CPA License
Once you have passed all parts of your CPA exam with at least 75%, you will be eligible to apply for you CPA license.
To do so, you will need to:
- Meet the 150-semester hour requirement
- Their primary place of business must be in Mississippi
- Be of Good Moral Character
- Meet the work experience requirements
- Pay the $110.00 original license registration fee
- Pay the $100.00 processing fee
Practice Privilege for Out-of-State License Holders
A CPA who holds an out-of-state license recognized as substantially equivalent to that of Mississippi’s can practice in Mississippi without requiring Mississippi CPA licensure on condition that:
- They have a valid CPA license that is recognized as being substantially equivalent to that of Mississippi’s or have had their personal credentials evaluated by the Board as such
- The license is in good standing with the issuing state
- They possess at least one year of work experience as outlined above
- Their principal place of business is in the state of licensure
- The individual will stop practicing in Mississippi should the license expire in the issuing state
Interstate License Reciprocity
Mississippi recognizes interstate reciprocity of CPA licenses from states and jurisdictions that are considered to be of substantial equivalence to that of Mississippi’s CPA license on condition that the issuing state or jurisdiction affords Mississippi license holders the same opportunity. Additionally, they will also need to fulfill the following:
- Meet the educational requirements stipulated above
- Have passed all four parts of the Uniform CPA exam
- Have Mississippi as their primary place of business
- Hold a valid license that is in good standing with the issuing state
- If an applicant has an active license in a jurisdiction that is not substantially equivalent, the Board will consider issuing a reciprocal CPA license if the applicant’s qualifications are substantially equivalent to those required to obtain a Mississippi original CPA license
International License Reciprocity
Mississippi does not recognize international licenses or the IQAB/NASBA Mutual Recognition agreements. As such, international license holders will need to follow the same procedures outlined under ‘foreign educations.’
NTS Validation Period
Once the exam has been paid for, Mississippi applicants will have six months from the date of issuance to take the exam. They can also set or change the date for the exam within that timeframe. However, if they fail to do so, they will need to reapply and pay the application fee again. Extensions will be given to those impacted by site closures due to COVID and similar unforeseen circumstances.
License Renewal Requirements
Mississippi CPA license holders are required to renew their licenses annually by December 31st. However, they are expected to fulfill their 40 hours of continued professional education (CPE) by June 30th each year. Of these, the following CPE requirements must be included:
However, the CPE requirements of 80 hours are required biennially, with a minimum of 20 CPE hours required per year. Generally, these must be reported by December 31st, but the Board does allow for extensions in light of natural disasters and similar occurrences.
- No more than 20 CPE on personal development classes
- Up to 20 hours of CPE can be carried over from one reporting period to the next
- CPE can only be earned from a formal program of learning that directly contributes to the professional competence of the license holder
- Self-study, correspondence and online courses will be recognized for CPE on condition that they are approved by the Quality Assurance Services (QAS) program of the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA)
- Accredited college courses will be evaluated as 15 CPE per semester credit hour and each quarter hour will be equal to 10 CPE
- Non-credit college courses will be credited on an hour-for-hour basis
- Lecturers will receive CPE as twice that of the course length
- Each course must provide sufficient evidence of attendance and hours
- If license holders fail to meet the CPE requirements on time, they will still be able to apply them up until August 1st, but will need to pay the penalty fee
- License holders must retain the CPE records for a minimum of 5 years after the end of
- There is a triennial Ethics requirement of 4 hours of Board approved Ethics courses, of which 1 hour must be in Mississippi Accountancy Laws, Rules and Regulations
Further details can be found in the Board’s Statutes, Laws and Regulations.
Renewal Fee: $110.00
Late fee if paid after January 1st: $150.00
Non-resident CPA license holders
A licensee whose primary place of business is not in Mississippi and that state or jurisdiction’s CPE requirements are considered to be substantially equivalent to those of Mississippi’s can report those CPE hours with a sworn declaration of having met them in lieu of meeting Mississippi’s CPE requirements.
Renewal fee: $110.00
Inactive license holders
Mississippi CPA license holders can opt to change their license status to ‘inactive.’ This will allow them to maintain their license by paying the renewal fees, without the need to meet the CPE requirements. However, they will not be permitted to practice as a CPA until their license is made ‘active’ again. In order to switch their license status back, they will need to apply for reinstatement and meet the license renewal requirements stipulated above.
Expired license holders
Failure to renew either an active or inactive license within 10 days of the expiration date will result in the Mississippi license expiring. You will then need to apply for reinstatement of your license, as well as pay the delinquency fee. In order to reactivate an expired license, you will need to submit an application form containing:
- You license number
- Proof of no criminal record
- Proof of meeting any CPE or Ethics course requirements, depending on the license type, as outlined above. CPE is calculated at 40 CPE a year for up to no 120 CE over the 36 months prior to application for reinstatement. A carry-over of no more than 20 CPE may be applied for each compliance period.
- Reinstatement will not be considered while the applicant is under sentence for a criminal offence, including while they are on probation or parole
- Fines may be waived according to the Board’s discretion according to special circumstances
Reinstatement fee: $110.00 per year of delinquency
Reinstatement processing fee: $200.00
Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy
- Address: 5 Old River Place, Suite 104
Jackson, MS 39202-3449
- Phone: (601) 354-7320
- Fax: (601) 354-7290
- Email: email@example.com
- Website: https://www.msbpa.ms.gov/
- Hours: Mon – Fri: 08:00 – 17:00